top of page

Driver's Log 5

2634-10-21

Money be damned!


12 damn standard hours just to get cleared to pull a load, and no compensation for my time? Sitting on my arse while they what, had coffee? Supposedly to make sure I could pull it?! My old tug wouldn't have had trouble. I'm never pulling for Universal Cargo again. Didn't abandon it, only because my next load was out that way, otherwise...


UC offered me 4.5m to tow a chunk of salvage to the far side of Ganymede. That's a good payday, and going my direction, but it took 12 bloody hours to clear it for movement with the STA and DIT. UC didn't have any of the paperwork ready, and that was the real problem. Total armature hour. Every operator fresh out of school knows you need to get STA and DIT sign off, before you move. Damn glad I checked first, rather than assuming. You eat that fine once in your career.


Still, I'm not happy. The broker offered to compensate me at a measly 150k. No, really. Offered me 150k, as if that was gonna make up for it. Yeah I'm good. Filed a rider against both the broker and UC over it. Still, going my way, so I pulled the load, dropped it where they asked, pushed settlement through, and set the grav-drives to max as i melted a section of the salvage on my way out of the Jupiter System.


Telling you. With no load, this baby has got some zip to her.


On a lighter note, Avengers, End Game is on, and so is a nice thick steak, baked tater, and a nice green salad with a light Balsamic Vinaigrette, gotta eat healthy out here. Damn I love this tug. This kitchen is really going to make things better. Thinking about adding one of them collapsible gym things.


Logged off duty and Logged into Sleeper

Driver Hal Johnson out.

 

2634-11-3

Hit another rogue solar storm yesterday, the new surge protector held perfectly, and the reactor got a healthy boost just as advertised. Hell, the Tug took the flare right in the teeth and just grinned back 6k was well worth the level of protection it provides.


Decided to name the Tug Kaira after a favorite series of audio books called The Chronicles of Ascension. Don't remember off hand who wrote 'em, but the stories had an uncanny knack of draggin you in.


Anyway, Kaira because of the character in those books was made of some tough stuff. Overcame some pretty heavy obstacles to be with the man she fell for. It wasn't just a romance or nuttin, was a darn good SciFi story, with that as bonus. I remember almost feelin like I was there.


So yeah, I named her Kaira, and she fits the name. So tonight I'm gonna make pizza and watch Marry Poppins I think. Sue me I like old movies.


Logged off duty and logged into sleeper

Driver Hal Johnson out

13 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page