top of page

Driver's Log 6


The terraforming of Mars has come a lot farther than I realized. I thought the idea of dropping comets on the planet was crazy, but the fact that I can walk along a martian beach and watch a sunset says it wasn't quite so crazy as it seemed.

2635-01-05


It has been a while since I've logged anything. Took some time off at a secluded resort on Mars. Not a lot of people know it is there. It is Mars after all. I really am not big on people you see. Never have been.


The resort was small but swanky for an old spacer like me. Though, I made a new friend who just happened to be there at the same time. It was a relaxing weekend. Drinks and good food. Interesting conversation, and just the feeling of all the stress of the last standard year melting away.


I think I'm going to make this a yearly thing, off season of course, because you know … humans. Plus, it's when my friend usually stops through.


No movie tonight as I'm still on vacation. Gonna have a few drinks and watch the sun set on the beach.


No duty status logged

Driver Hal Johnson out

 

2635-01-10


Vacation is over and its back to the black. Had a wonderful time. My new friend is a clever conversationalist, among other things. Can't wait to meet up again. Gives me real motivation to actually take time off.


Anyway. I landed a contract that will keep me out near Io for the next 6 standard months. Huge shipments headed to the colonies, and the pay will cover my entire year, so everything I do after is pure profit and extra payments on the Tug.


Always liked workin out that way, the gravitational flux was murder on my old tug, but doesn't even phase the new one. Jupiter was just never nice to the old girl, but the grav-drives on Kaira are easily able to pull massive amounts of weight away from Jupiter's influence.


Keep catchin myself thinkin about my friend. Wondering if they are ok and if they think about me. Funny really. Maybe it's just because of how well we hit it off, how well we meshed.


Damn ... Ok back to task.


Logged out of sleeper and logged on duty

Driver Hal Johnson out

10 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page