top of page

Welcome to my little corner of the universe.

I am D.C. Ballard.

Author. Tabletop Game Master.

Husband. Father. Pet Papa.

Certified and Proud Mega-Nerd. 

I write Sci-Fi/Sci-Fan, and Sci-Fi Erotica.

Any NSFW posts will be clearly marked, and any of the NAUGHTY stuff will be after the fold.

 

Here in this blog I will share with you, oh weary wanderer of the Internets, some of my creative endeavors.

There will be at least two ongoing, if not always regularly updated, stories. I will also post the occasional teaser and snippet from my other work, including published, and not yet published work.

>> All Content is © D.C.Ballard 2019 <<

>> All Images are to my knowledge, CC0 and are sourced from Pixabay.com unless otherwise noted. <<

  • Writer's pictureD.C. Ballard

Frydai's Log 2


Exploring some of the smaller crawlways and conduits of the ship using my drone. There is so much more to this ship than I think Kel realizes.

My upgrades are coming along well, and I'm writing this as I undergo the last set that I have planned as part of the initial set. I don't need some of the things that Kel has, but I've still chosen to have some of them done. The hope, for me, is that I will actually need them in the future. These upgrades include armor under my skin, a small power unit, and contacts on my hand that I can use to power tools and weapons with.

I've also added a small weapon implant and some other items. I find that I want to protect Hearl and Clar, and even with these implants behind several safeties, including a physical one, it makes me happy. That seems to be the key though, and what makes me happy, makes Clar, Hearl, and Kel happy.

I'm watching them work on the house using the cyber-link and the sensors. Printed a little drone that I can fly around, rather than sleep through the procedure. It's not a big thing, and needs to recharge every few hours, but it gives me a freedom I'd never known. Now I understand what Kel was up to, looking through the eyes and ears of a drone, changes your perspective a bit.

I am still amazed that Clar and Hearl continue to accept and love me, and it is that acceptance that makes me love them all the more. I wonder what they will say when I go with Kel to visit the people that live in the crater. I know Kel has been putting off the printing of a new shuttle. They've been favoring the satellites, and I don't blame them, but they can't hide their desire to explore from me. It is a desire I hold as well.

Having a home, the tribe, Clar and Hearl, to return to, actually makes me want to do it more. We can explore, meet new people, maybe create some trade with them. I know Kel also wants to find their old companion, Edix. Though we have only ever had the one signal, and it has been nearly a standard year since then. The festival is coming up again.

Wow. The festival, already? I see via the drone that they are already getting some things ready, so it must only be a few weeks away. I know I give Kel a hard time, but they have a bit decision on their plate. To me, it isn't that big a deal. Then again, I went and found myself two mates at the last one. I don't know if Kel is emotionally ready, but I don't know if I was either.

I do know that Kel never had a mate on their home world. It was one of the reasons they were selected for the mission that got them lost. I still don't quite understand the why of it, and I don't think they do either. With that, they really don't have any experience in the things the festival is all about. They do like being an elder though, and I think the other elders see what I do. Kel is okay by themselves, but they need someone. With me moving out to be with my mates, they will be okay for a time, but eventually, they'll need another person.

Damn, time for the drone to recharge, so I'm going to take a nap. Still have another week in the Doc before the implants and initial healing is done. By then the house should be finished and I can recover in my new home with Clar and Hearl. I am actually looking forward to that. I look forward to us blessing each room of our new home. Might take a few days, but it'll be fun.

Thinking about it. I think that is why Kel went as far as they did with the upgrades. They didn't have a Clar to listen, or a Hearl to discuss practicality with. I hope they find someone at the Festival, though that is not going to stop me from giving them a hard time. What kind of son would I be if I didn't?

10 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page