top of page

Welcome to my little corner of the universe.

I am D.C. Ballard.

Author. Tabletop Game Master.

Husband. Father. Pet Papa.

Certified and Proud Mega-Nerd. 

I write Sci-Fi/Sci-Fan, and Sci-Fi Erotica.

Any NSFW posts will be clearly marked, and any of the NAUGHTY stuff will be after the fold.

 

Here in this blog I will share with you, oh weary wanderer of the Internets, some of my creative endeavors.

There will be at least two ongoing, if not always regularly updated, stories. I will also post the occasional teaser and snippet from my other work, including published, and not yet published work.

>> All Content is © D.C.Ballard 2019 <<

>> All Images are to my knowledge, CC0 and are sourced from Pixabay.com unless otherwise noted. <<

  • Writer's pictureD.C. Ballard

Frydai's Log 4


First view of the top of the stairs coming up the inside of the cliff face, allowing safer travel up the cliff face.

Amazing to look down the shaft of stairs that goes all the way down to the bottom of the cliff. There are large resting areas along the way, lit by self regenerating lights. Technology Kel provided for the project. Just like the Laser used to rapidly cut the hole all the way down, and carve the steps and rest areas. The bricks are just the last few dozen meters at the top. They had to drill a clean shaft first, and then work on the steps second, at the top anyway. The top is also the widest part, as it has some air moving equipment to ensure fresh air is pushed down the shaft to the bottom and out. It's quite the marvel.

I got to be among some of the first to officially climb it, with Hearl and Clar, as well as a few selected young-lings from a lottery. It was a lot of fun, and I admit. We held back, having some fun in one of the upper rest areas. We got some looks once we finished the climb, but we didn't care. Far too much fun to not do it. Kel would have been part of the trip up the stairs, but He and Merd were still on their trip. They might have been up for the fun Clar, Hearl and I got up to as well, given what I saw.

I finally set a drone to check on them, was a bit worried until I picked up a distant camp fire. Turned out they were taking a longer route, and I caught them... Well, I'd say they are getting along quite well. Quite well in deed. I'm very happy for them.

The shuttle is coming along great, and should be ready shortly after Kel gets back, or before, depending on how long they stay out there. They're clearly enjoying each other and having a great time. I didn't want to disturb them, and things are going smoothly, so no need to.

The first engine is now clear, though I dare not test it until they are all clear. Don't want to risk the crystal reforming over that one. The crystal on the other drives is too close, and the way it grows, it might reach over from those. Still, I have completed the maintenance and tested all the systems, with an exception of a test fire. Once the two upper engines are clear, I'll test those. Kel said there are also engines on the underside of the module, so we will have to get those cleared at some point as well.

I've asked Hearl about that. How we could manage to lift up the module to get at those. He's working on a couple of ideas. I think they are all pretty viable, though I lean towards the digging option. Time, and Kel's input, will determine which we use as the final option.

It is funny. I actually find I am missing Kel while they are away with Merd. They've been part of my life for so long. I have Hearl and Clar to lean on in those moments. Kel has only ever had their friends, Edix I think was the name, and that was pretty recent for them. They crashed with two, and one was hurt badly. I gather that they died, Edix couldn't take it, and decided to explore. That was shortly after Kel crashed here. I wonder if they were able to survive the Tide. Though if they are as modified and Kel, and I now am, they should have been fine.

Between sections of the shuttle, I've been printing other things. Tools, filling out a better armory, and I've done what I can to test the crystal that we're finally removing from the engines. I don't know what to make of the stuff. I hope Kel can do better. I've taken to searching the data banks for something, and found some strange references to something called Arc Crystal, from the same civilization that Kel got Edix and the others from. I only found a reference though, and need to dig deeper. I've asked Clar to index that part of the data bank and write me some kind of more efficient search tool.

Clar has taken to the computer stuff amazingly well. Her skills are quickly approaching Kel's. The difference being pure experience on Kel's part, and he's told her as much. I think she will exceed his skill in another year or two, and that will be amazing. Kel even suggested that, with some years of experience, she might even be able to repair the code of the AI. Kel backed it up, but it's outside his experience. Clar, he suggests, might just be able to figure it out.

9 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page