top of page

Welcome to my little corner of the universe.

I am D.C. Ballard.

Author. Tabletop Game Master.

Husband. Father. Pet Papa.

Certified and Proud Mega-Nerd. 

I write Sci-Fi/Sci-Fan, and Sci-Fi Erotica.

Any NSFW posts will be clearly marked, and any of the NAUGHTY stuff will be after the fold.

 

Here in this blog I will share with you, oh weary wanderer of the Internets, some of my creative endeavors.

There will be at least two ongoing, if not always regularly updated, stories. I will also post the occasional teaser and snippet from my other work, including published, and not yet published work.

>> All Content is © D.C.Ballard 2019 <<

>> All Images are to my knowledge, CC0 and are sourced from Pixabay.com unless otherwise noted. <<

  • Writer's pictureD.C. Ballard

Log Entry 101


Another world and it's star, out in the void, too far to be there as if flung off of a nearby universe like that recent gas giant. I don't understand how places like this and Home happen, but they are beautiful none the less.

Another beautiful world, in another universe. Another small universe. It seems the really big ones like where I came from, and a few others that I have come across are the oddities. Truly, most universes are between 10 and 1000 times the size of Trost. Thing is, where I came from, my original universe, had to be easily 100,000 times the size of Trost, if not larger.

I have seen a few universes now where they were birthed right next to each other, even overlapping each other, and so I wonder if that isn't what happened with mine. If it wasn't just one, but dozens of smaller universes all stacked up against each other. I suppose I'll need to run some simulations on that.

I've been away from Home for two years, ship time, now. Though, thanks to having to run from that hostile species, I have been away from Home for nearly 2900 years, Home time. I really don't have a frame of reference for the temporal displacement yet, so I really cannot know how long it has actually been since I left the world of my birth. I do know only that it has been a very, very, long time.

I admit. I don't think about that home anymore. I think about Home, the world I found out in the void that I built an actual home on. A real home, and one I think about, one I want to go back to. I never looked back at my room as something I looked forward to seeing again, or missed while I was away, yet I miss Home.


I think about my companions, Kotth and Lurr. I wonder about the many, many, species I have seen now, from a distance. Though sadly I've only encountered one that was space faring beyond basic orbiting of satellites. They were sadly, very hostile. I really hope that the next actually space faring species I come across is less hostile.

So yes. I have found and recorded hundreds of species of intelligence at this point. I keep that in the specialized log just to document such things, and that log is set to receive and record the output of any probes or satellite's I might leave behind to continue monitoring them. They're all pretty similar actually, regardless of universe. Sure, they might look different, and they might have different biologies. One might see only in heat, others only in the high ultra-violet, and still others use forms of sonic ranging, but they are all intelligence that I recognize as such, they also, with the one exception, have not advanced to be truly space faring.

I suppose part of why I haven't come across such things, save the once, is I don't really hang around anywhere long. I suppose after I get to the source and study that. I'll take more time, explore more. Like I did with Trost. I was so captivated by the fact that I actually got to watch Trost being born. Yet, even the life that Trost has generated is young, barely more than bacteria and the like. I should explore some of these smaller universes, ones where I have found an intelligent species, see if there are more and if there are space faring species that are not so hostile.

That said. This world I found. Another one out in the void all by itself. Only the world and it's star, and again lost far beyond the edge of any nearby universe. This one has a bright yellow star, and as beautiful as the world is, as teaming with life as it may be, it is down right hostile to life like me. The world is large, huge in fact., and while a rocky world, the atmosphere is thick and dense. I could breath it, if it wasn't compressed at the surface almost of the point of becoming a liquid. Even then. The atmosphere is generally transparent, allowing the sunlight to reach the surface. A surface teaming with lifeforms. Nothing intelligent I can see, but life, and lots of it.

Still have a long way to go to get to the signal source. Which, now that I am so much closer, is more complex. I'm still analyzing it, but it is definitely got something else going on than just the prime number sets.

Lastly. There is Dark Life here, actually passed within a light year of this world and it's star. I am beginning to think that they are sensitive to gravity wells. I'll have to do some measurements. See if that is the case, that they won't get too close to a gravity well. An interesting idea I'll need to verify. Though now that I know places where they dive close to deeper gravity fields, like this system, and that galaxy sized universe. Maybe I'll be able to get more information by figuring out how close to where they are I can get, while not expecting them to take a swipe at me. Not that I think they would, or wouldn't. I don't know what they would do. So.…

So... On with the next jump towards the signal. Will need to refuel again.

18 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page