top of page

Welcome to my little corner of the universe.

I am D.C. Ballard.

Author. Tabletop Game Master.

Husband. Father. Pet Papa.

Certified and Proud Mega-Nerd. 

I write Sci-Fi/Sci-Fan, and Sci-Fi Erotica.

Any NSFW posts will be clearly marked, and any of the NAUGHTY stuff will be after the fold.

 

Here in this blog I will share with you, oh weary wanderer of the Internets, some of my creative endeavors.

There will be at least two ongoing, if not always regularly updated, stories. I will also post the occasional teaser and snippet from my other work, including published, and not yet published work.

>> All Content is © D.C.Ballard 2019 <<

>> All Images are to my knowledge, CC0 and are sourced from Pixabay.com unless otherwise noted. <<

  • Writer's pictureD.C. Ballard

Log Entry 105


A close up view of one of the anomalies. A strange knot of gravity and energy, that seems to lead to somewhere else. Somewhere very different from this universe.

By the ancients, this area, so close to branches of the fissure, is a gravitational mine-field. The strange anomalies that I detected near the fissure are actually more common than I thought. Some appear to tie themselves to a mass of some kind and escape from the immediate vicinity of the fissure.

It would actually seem that I am within a cluster of tendrils off the fissure, and as such, it is making navigation.... interesting. Gravitational shock-waves roll through the area, the anomalies, tied to some mass or other, drift past. I got a close up view of one, unintentionally. It nearly hit the Viteză Furie. It is a tight knot of gravity, energy from the fissure itself, all tightly wrapped around a chunk of spacial scar material.

I launched a probe into it. It was torn to shreds before the substance of it was ripped from this region of space to somewhere else. I tried a second one, firing it strait down the throat of the thing. It survived for a few moments before failing as well. It came out somewhere else. What I mean by that is that, where it came out... It wasn't here. The sensors reported weird readings, and as it moved beyond the influence of the other end of the anomaly, it started to literally dissolve. The atoms of the probe appearing to literally fall apart. The data transmitted back suggest that where it ended up had different physical properties to this universe.

I have however finally identified a region of smooth space that I feel is stable. The sensors agree with me, and while it took a full month and a half, I will be jumping again in a few hours. Will be interesting to see if I maintain the time that I gained back when I jumped here. I'm still not sure how that works.

I have finished going through CT's writings. Every last equation, note, scribble, etc... I understand the Viteză Furie as much as I am going to be able to. I know now that the drive really does have the ability to compensate for the local gravity field, within certain parameters. So, I can jump near a planet, as long as I have a good gravity map of it. I can jump now, if I wanted to, but I still feel safer jumping from Smooth space. Still... It is good to know that I can jump wherever I want to, if needed. Sure would have made the run from that hostile species a lot easier if I had known that.

CT was brilliant. I kinda even understand what the anomalies are, based on their writings. There are a lot of things packed into them. Discussions on universal structure. Different ways to look at and describe space itself. As a fluid, gravity itself as a fluid, space as a static volume. So many strange ideas, but all of them with more merit and value to me than the other theories and hypothesis from my world. It really seems as if CT understood something about the very nature of the universe that my people just did not grasp. Where I am now, how I got here, the things I have seen. These all speak to that. I just wish I could at least let CT know that they were right, about all of it.

Speaking of communicating with home. the ET/EC is fully functional. Yet everything sits in the queues. I don't like it, but I am now convinced that there is no one on the other end. The connection is there, but the unit itself us unmanned. For that matter. Given what I now know about the temporal deflection in jump and the fact that the crew module just utterly threw things out of whack. I am probably so far forward in time that my original home world has been devoured by its' star.

At the same time, that is kind of a relief. There is no one to yell at me, no one to tell me I have failed, or give me orders I couldn't necessarily follow even if I wanted to. Especially since I cut all of the remote control connections that are not exclusively under my control. The only beings that now can tell me what to do are Kotth and Lurr, and that usually deals with feeding and petting them when they want it.

Time to complete the final preparations for jump. Next stop. The signal source.

24 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page