top of page

Welcome to my little corner of the universe.

I am D.C. Ballard.

Author. Tabletop Game Master.

Husband. Father. Pet Papa.

Certified and Proud Mega-Nerd. 

I write Sci-Fi/Sci-Fan, and Sci-Fi Erotica.

Any NSFW posts will be clearly marked, and any of the NAUGHTY stuff will be after the fold.

 

Here in this blog I will share with you, oh weary wanderer of the Internets, some of my creative endeavors.

There will be at least two ongoing, if not always regularly updated, stories. I will also post the occasional teaser and snippet from my other work, including published, and not yet published work.

>> All Content is © D.C.Ballard 2019 <<

>> All Images are to my knowledge, CC0 and are sourced from Pixabay.com unless otherwise noted. <<

  • Writer's pictureD.C. Ballard

Log Entry 106


A more spectacular view of Jump space than usual.

Jump went smoothly. Even used the gravity compensation abilities of the ARC Drive. Space wasn't as smooth as I would have liked. Everything worked like a charm, but the view is even more spectacular than before. I wonder if it is due to the vicinity to the fissure.

Thew views haven't just been the usual tunnels, but with light-shows as well. Some of them have spooked Kotth and Lurr, others have had them sitting with me, watching in wonder.

Speed in jump is as always unclear, though there is still the drag on the Viteză Furie. The mains, are working extra hard to push the ship, at least based on fuel burn statistics. It is weird, but I have the fuel to keep going for a long time at the current burn levels., so it is fine, other than an anomaly, like so much else here.

Looking at the time deflection with Home, the difference is jumping around. It'll be what I have come to expect, then slow down, even reversing, before accelerating to a wild degree. When I say accelerating. I mean, to the point that, for a few moments there, I was 3.5 million years out from Home. For only a few seconds, but that was enough to give me a scare.

All other systems are running as expected. Manufacturing continues apace. I keep to my schedule with the Adoc and taking my in Jump supplements. I am getting really good at cooking, at least in my opinion. Sadly don't have anyone but Kotth and Lurr to share it with, and they'll eat nearly anything.

Speaking of Kotth and Lurr. They are far more intelligent then even I gave them credit for. I have had each of them in the Adoc as well for full scans. They're fascinating creatures, and very similar to me in physiology. Their intelligence is that of a bright child.

I am debating putting each of them in for modifications. I've done the sim's with the Adoc, extrapolated using the ships computer, and the right set of brain augments will give them the intelligence of some of the people I knew back on my home world. Not Tech's to be sure, and not me at this point with my own augmentations. But it would bring them fully into sentience. Sure, they are sentient now, but our communication, while possible, is fairly rudimentary. As I said, the smarts of a bright child of 2 years. They can get basic concepts. Communicate basic information, and even that has been invaluable, but I'm not sure if upgrading them, augmenting them would be right, or even ethical. Let along the fact that they are very much of the mind of a child. I could explain it to them, but I could not have confidence that what I explained would be understood enough for them to make a decision for themselves.

Then again. I have kidnapped them from their home world and made them my pets. So it isn't as if I haven't already crossed a few grey lines. What's one more? Yeah..., that's the argument I have been having with myself.

Will be in jump for another six weeks just to get clear of the Universe Nebula, and another four to the source. I'm just going to stick it out.

19 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page