top of page

Welcome to my little corner of the universe.

I am D.C. Ballard.

Author. Tabletop Game Master.

Husband. Father. Pet Papa.

Certified and Proud Mega-Nerd. 

I write Sci-Fi/Sci-Fan, and Sci-Fi Erotica.

Any NSFW posts will be clearly marked, and any of the NAUGHTY stuff will be after the fold.

 

Here in this blog I will share with you, oh weary wanderer of the Internets, some of my creative endeavors.

There will be at least two ongoing, if not always regularly updated, stories. I will also post the occasional teaser and snippet from my other work, including published, and not yet published work.

>> All Content is © D.C.Ballard 2019 <<

>> All Images are to my knowledge, CC0 and are sourced from Pixabay.com unless otherwise noted. <<

  • Writer's pictureD.C. Ballard

Log Entry 111


The source of the signal. A planet within a planet, both as large as stars, and powered by the birth scar of a universe. Essentially a giant gravity wave speaker.

I have been close to the signal source for two months now, observing. I have no more understanding of what I am seeing now, than when I first detected the signal. In truth, I understand what is happening, but the how, the why..., those are well beyond me. Now that I know what Kotth and Lurr were, I rather wish they were here. Maybe they could shed some light on this object. If I meet them again, I will certainly be sure to share all my observations with them.

It looks like a planet, and I suppose that it is. It is massive, nearly as large as a typical red-giant star. As you can see in the image, it has part of it cut off and hollowed out. In that hollow rests a smaller planet larger by twice than the red dwarf star that Home orbits. The whole thing acts like a speaker.

The signal is literally a giant speaker. The oscillations of this construct, because that is clearly what it is, creates shock-waves in space. The rapid movements of the smaller planet in and out of the cavity creating what, at a distance, is the gravity wave signal I have been following. There are structures on the surface. I have seen them in long range imaging. Massive structures the size of moons, dotting the surface of the larger world.

I really don't know what to call this. A construct? A planet? A device? The scale is absurd.

The power it is generating and using is astonishing all on its own. If the readings are right, and I've no reason not to believe them. The power core of the construct, which is not at the center, but to one side, away from the speaker itself, is a universe scar, and an active one.


The power source for this is the scar in space that universes create when they are born, only this one is still active the way the massive scar of the Universe Nebula was. Only someone wrapped a star sized planet around it and is using the power output, the pure energy output, to create a gravitational signal that is detectable at Trost and beyond.

I am going to approach it, maybe even go down to the surface, but I can only do that on the exact opposite side as the speaker side. Not even sure what the surface gravity is going to be like, or if I can even get close. I don't know, but I am going to try. There are structures there and I want to see if I can learn anything from them.

Another thing. In the two months that I have observed it, it has not changed position. It doesn't rotate or move. It is literally stationary in space. Being near it, keeping myself exactly with it has forced me to re-calibrate some of my velocity sensors. It is not moving in a most literal sense. It is anchored to it's spot in space, maybe because of what is powering it. So the speaker end is always facing the same direction. I wonder if that has always been the case. Off to the side, the signal strength goes down quickly.

Considering this fact. I wonder if that doesn't point to a purpose. It reminds me of something I saw in CT's writings.... I need to look.

--------------------

Found it. CT proposed that the universe has a shape and finite size. Only when they are describing the universe, they mean all of space, the void, all the universes in it, everything. CT suggests that if you had a powerful enough signal, you could detect that shape and size, and map out everything in it, such as individual universes. I remember reading this early on and discounting it, before I found Trost, found myself in the void, back when I still thought I was within my own universe.

I need to find a better term than universe. Universe is what the entirety of it is, from my original home, to here at the signal source, and beyond. So what do I call the individual universes, like Trost, and the one that I can still see, even if I am beyond it's gravitational boundary. That is going to take some thought.

The age of this construct is also mind boggling. I really didn't know what to expect, but this. I... This is definitely not something that was on my list of possibilities.

31 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page