top of page

Welcome to my little corner of the universe.

I am D.C. Ballard.

Author. Tabletop Game Master.

Husband. Father. Pet Papa.

Certified and Proud Mega-Nerd. 

I write Sci-Fi/Sci-Fan, and Sci-Fi Erotica.

Any NSFW posts will be clearly marked, and any of the NAUGHTY stuff will be after the fold.

 

Here in this blog I will share with you, oh weary wanderer of the Internets, some of my creative endeavors.

There will be at least two ongoing, if not always regularly updated, stories. I will also post the occasional teaser and snippet from my other work, including published, and not yet published work.

>> All Content is © D.C.Ballard 2019 <<

>> All Images are to my knowledge, CC0 and are sourced from Pixabay.com unless otherwise noted. <<

  • Writer's pictureD.C. Ballard

Log Entry 114


A rendering of what the primary Null-Zone looks like. A large moon or planet that has been shifted into a different dimension, thus anchoring it in space to act as anchor for the construct.

I have spent two years now, here in the vicinity of the Construct. It holds my attention like nothing else. The technology I am scavenging from the crashed ships; entirely new types of drive systems, weapons systems, computer technologies, and so much more. Data on hundreds of thousands of species, and where they are. The ships, the seemingly never ending stream of ships, from species after species that arrives here. Some crashing themselves onto the surface, most leaving the area after a few months studying the construct, a very few managing to make it to the surface and back.

I have made contact with many of them now. It helps that one of the ships I found, one of the newer wrecks, had a translator program. That program has allowed me to understand so much more of what I am finding in the wrecks, from the construct, and from these other visitors. I have shared a meal with some, and been forced to warn others off. Not every species is hostile, but a lot of them seem to be. I'm learning to tell the difference. Still, I keep trying.

I have been studying the anchor points for the construct. There are actually hundreds of them, all equally spaced, and at the identical distance. Each Null-Zone seems to have a slightly different set of views of the universe outside of it. I now have a fleet of drones studying them all. Studying the differences you can see from within the Null-Zone to what lies beyond it.

After some additional study of one of the more ancient wrecks that I could actually get to safely. I picked up some extremely advanced sensor technology. It is advanced enough that I really have to wonder why they crashed. They had a better ability to see and map the gravitational anomalies than I do. Then again, where the wreck was located is near a city sized building. I wonder if they weren't trying to press their luck and got caught. There are intermittent anomalies in that area that I can map the path and appearance of only because I have been studying the construct for so long. I'm still decoding what I could get from their computers, so perhaps I will learn what happened from that.

With that new scanner technology, my ability to study everything here has gone up significantly. All my drones, probes, and the Viteză Furie itself have all been upgraded. This improved ability to see things has opened up all new mysteries about the construct and the space around it. It is those sensors that revealed the additional Null-Zones. It also allowed me to study the Null-Zones and the sphere of static gravity around them in more detail. The image is a rendering of what the sphere of gravity around the initial Null-Zone I was studying looks like.

I don't understand it to be sure. Yet the appearance cannot be denied, and the idea that the Null-Zones are planets, maybe very large moons, or were, actually fits the equations. I've been expanding on CT's work, along with the fantastic volumes of data I am collecting. What I have come up with is that the Null-Zones are in fact the moons or planets that I can see when I render the appearance of the gravity spheres.

It fits the equations. It fits the observations. Not that I understand it. These moons are somehow shifted into other dimensions, other spaces, while being anchored in space exactly where they were shifted. The anchor is the gravitational force lines that attached to the Null-Zones from the construct. This creates a way to ensure that the construct itself is also anchored in place, and always pointed in exactly the same direction.

The equations suggest that this would have to be done with some astonishing precision, but given what the beings that created this construct have achieved. I cannot doubt their ability to meet that need.

Looking beyond that. I can know confirm that the signal is meant to draw those that are capable of getting here, to the construct. This is presumably so that it might share the data it has with them. It does so freely, and without regard for who or what you are, or where you come from. The map that the construct has, reflects the entirety of the wider universe, and is in fact live. The resolution of that map is all the way down to the star-system level, at least for the nearest universes. You can zoom into individual planets and stars, and get data on them. I don't know how it does this, but it does.


Beyond those nearest universes, the resolution goes down quickly. At its worst, you can still see individual galaxies, even if you cannot get details beyond that. The restriction seems to be literally distance based. The farther away, the lower the resolution. I can only guess as to why that is. Perhaps even the construct has a limit on it's data storage capacity? Perhaps it is simply a limitation on the way it is constructing this live map of the cosmos? I've posed the question to the construct. I have not gotten a response.

Even with the resolution restrictions, the amount of data is truly phenomenal. I cannot even put a value on it, because I cannot even estimate how much space would be required. One of several reasons why I have not even tried to download that map. I have the ET/EC comm connection to it, and that allows me to pull up the map for where I am whenever and wherever I am.

I have used the map to locate a nearby system of four worlds. It is only a few days in jump from the construct, but is another lost system out in the void, unconnected with any nearby universe. There is a nice, livable world like Home, as well as a gas giant for refueling, and will make a wonderful base of operations. I am heading there next, after I meet with some friends. A species from a universe almost as distant from the construct as Trost is. Actually, they are many species, working in harmony.


They have many different biologies among the species that make up their coalition. I am therefore able to enjoy a safe meal with them, because they are used to creating food for many different needs. In fact, mine matches one of the primary species that makes up their coalition. We are even very similar genetically.


I rather enjoy the food. Has a nice spice to it that I didn't know I would even enjoy, and I have since asked for some recipes and supplies, in exchange for data and other things. We have traded a several times, and I expect we will again in the future. They have been here many times before me, and since I have been here.

Time to get ready for dinner.

14 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page