top of page

Welcome to my little corner of the universe.

I am D.C. Ballard.

Author. Tabletop Game Master.

Husband. Father. Pet Papa.

Certified and Proud Mega-Nerd. 

I write Sci-Fi/Sci-Fan, and Sci-Fi Erotica.

Any NSFW posts will be clearly marked, and any of the NAUGHTY stuff will be after the fold.

 

Here in this blog I will share with you, oh weary wanderer of the Internets, some of my creative endeavors.

There will be at least two ongoing, if not always regularly updated, stories. I will also post the occasional teaser and snippet from my other work, including published, and not yet published work.

>> All Content is © D.C.Ballard 2019 <<

>> All Images are to my knowledge, CC0 and are sourced from Pixabay.com unless otherwise noted. <<

  • Writer's pictureD.C. Ballard

Log Entry 116


The fishing drone preparing to sail away from the oncoming storm on Alquas, the ocean world of the three sister worlds in this system.

It has been quite some time since I made an entry here. Longer then usual for sure. Then again, I have been in and out of the ADoc a dozen times for further upgrades and improvements to the systems I have installed. I'm now about thirty percent cybernetic, and this fact has saved my life a few times now.


The Viteză Furie has also undergone significant upgrades as well, and it all but a new ship. Those took a lot longer than I expected. There was a lot more to accessing the sub-systems of each module and upgrading them than I had anticipated. It is now a significantly more powerful ship. It is faster, punches harder when it needs to, and is better able to defend itself and me than ever before. As such, it has been three years, shy a day, since I have logged anything here.

That doesn't mean I have been doing nothing. I have made a real home of these worlds. I have a gas mining drone out in the gas-belt, along with massive tanks that orbit out there on the edge of the system. I can do a rapid refuel if needed, without dropping all the way into the system. With the many, many, new and hostile species I have met thanks to the construct, along with the data I have obtained from the wrecks. This seemed like a wise course. I also have drones and robot miners working the two sister worlds of the one I have made my home on. That includes something I had never needed to print before, a fishing drone. The smaller of the three sister worlds is mostly shallow ocean, and has fish that are quite tasty.

That is what these are, and I don't think I mentioned that my last entry. The three worlds are sisters. Three planets orbiting a common center of gravity, and together, then orbiting the star. It is a stable configuration. I have plotted it out billions of years, and barring some change in the local gravity situation, it will remain as it is now. This is really only something you can pull off out here in the void. The gas belt is too stable to form the gas giant world that it should have. This entire system has been engineered. Now that I recognize that, I look back at Home and realize that it too, was too perfect.


I know I mentioned the regular impactors that take swipes at these worlds. I have plotted them all as part of figuring out that the system is a construct, and the fact is, there are maybe twenty more impacts that these worlds will take, at which point the source will be depleted. Much like emptying the magazine on a weapon. Not sure why it was set up this way, but I am not going to interfere with them, as none of them are even all that large. Just more mysteries.

I look at all these systems, lost out in the void, and I now see them for what they are. They are just as much constructs as the the gravity speaker is, and just like the speaker construct, they don't move. It took some time to confirm, but once the upgrades to myself and the Viteză Furie were complete, I was able to travel to several of the other system lost in the void. There is no question about it. They are constructs.

I don't know what their purpose would be, save as a rest stop. Or perhaps as I am using this system, and how I have used Home, as remote bases of operations.


Scanning them with my new, and much more powerful sensors, has not revealed any gravitational anchors like those I found at the Speaker. So how they are kept stationary in space is not something I understand yet. Though I'm left to also wonder if these systems that dot the void are not as old, or maybe even older than the Speaker. That's what I call it. The Speaker. Just seemed appropriate, and easier than the Gravity Wave Generation Construct.

I have had fleets of drones and probes built, and they have been my eyes an ears, studying the Speaker, and now these systems as well. Even on the map from the Speaker, I don't see any pattern to them, these systems out in the void. Their position is not correlated with anything specific that I can see. There is no average distance from a nearby universe, no vicinity to pockets of Dark Life activity., nothing that seems to connect them, save that they are in fact constructs.

How do you just summon the material to build a star, planets, and even life, out of the void? How does a universe come into existence out of the void? CTs writings give me some hints. I wonder if Kotth and Lurr might know? I sent them a message nearly a year ago now, but have not heard back from them. I hope they didn't get in trouble for admitting to me who and what they were.


I have wondered if these systems are not the work of the Dark Life. Only... The Dark Life avoids these systems. They never get close, not within 20 light years of one of these systems, bypassing them the way they go around and avoid the gravity wells of universes. I have to wonder if that isn't a sign post for me. Only, I've scanned all the way out to that point, and there is nothing I can pick up. No gravity shell around the systems, no anchor points linked back to the star. I don't know what to make of it. Yet another mystery to add the to pile.

My new friends have visited me a few times here, and we have great conversations. We trade, and talk. Their visits have really improved things for me, and are also why I have been back to the ADoc so many times. They keep coming back with better stuff. They are a fascinating civilization, and while they are more than capable militarily, they are also very curious, and want to learn. They just realize that there are a lot of species that would rather shoot first, second, and third, then maybe talk. My friends were like that once, all of the species that make them up were like that, but they learned to overcome it. It was fascinating to learn some of their history.

They're not a young civilization, but not old like Kotth and Lurr's, either. They have shared with me where they are from, and I wonder if I should at least visit them. I think I would like that, but only for a visit. I am too used to being alone at this point. They say they have many pets that might fit my needs, though they don't usually keep them aboard ships. I am a different case, as it is just me. Whereas with them, there are hundreds of beings on their smaller craft, and their military carriers are truly massive things. They are a military force to be sure, yet their willingness to trade and exchange knowledge is in counterpoint to that.

Truly, there are many civilizations I need to visit now. Some to let them know what happened to their lost ships, others to meet, others to simply observe.


I am not finding as much new tech from the wrecked ships as I did at first, even from the new ones. The last of the files I can access from The Speaker, have been processed. I am still studying The Speaker and it's anchors. I have a hypothesis as to what they are, but that is just based on some guess work and equations.

I think the Gravity Anchors, the Null-Zones of The Speaker act as more than anchors, but also act as windows on other realities. Not big departures, but enough to be noticeable. That's is why The Speaker looks like a living world from within the Null-Zones. Why the Viteză Furie looks different, ever so slightly, compared to my version of the ship. Because I am not looking at my Viteză Furie from within the Null-Zones, but an alternate Viteză Furie. At least that is the theory I have at the moment. Really, I'm just guessing based on equations and ideas that I don't fully understand yet.

The truth is. I have reached a point of wanderlust again. There has been much more to hold my attention here, but there is still so much out there. The map from The Speaker just doesn't do the wider universe justice. I need to study the Dark Life, which don't show on the speakers map of things. I need to actually visit my friends and get a real pet. I need to visit other peoples that I have made contact with as visitors to The Speaker. I need to see the wonders that are out there for myself.

However... Before I do any of that. I am going to return to Trost and Home. I want to see if I can find Kotth and Lurr, to share with them what I have found. Maybe find out if they know anything about the Construct Systems out here in the void. Who might have built them as the constructs that they are, and even how. Find out if they know my new friends, and invite them to visit with me. Besides, the garden on Home has become quite the jungle since I left, and I need to see what my accidental experiment is life seeding has created. There were plants, and a few animals, from nearly a hundred systems. Most of which appear to have survived and even thrived.

Time to make preparations. I feel an excitement again, now that I know I will be traveling, and not just a hop over to my fishing drone, or to The Speaker to personally check out a wreck.

Ah yes. One last thing. I have named these three sister worlds. The mining world is Orre, the fishing world is, Alquas, and the world upon which I made my home is Krath. Yeah, I know Orre and Alquas is a bit derivative, but it fits, so I do what I want. There is no one out here to tell me otherwise. Back to preparations.

18 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page