top of page

Welcome to my little corner of the universe.

I am D.C. Ballard.

Author. Tabletop Game Master.

Husband. Father. Pet Papa.

Certified and Proud Mega-Nerd. 

I write Sci-Fi/Sci-Fan, and Sci-Fi Erotica.

Any NSFW posts will be clearly marked, and any of the NAUGHTY stuff will be after the fold.

 

Here in this blog I will share with you, oh weary wanderer of the Internets, some of my creative endeavors.

There will be at least two ongoing, if not always regularly updated, stories. I will also post the occasional teaser and snippet from my other work, including published, and not yet published work.

>> All Content is © D.C.Ballard 2019 <<

>> All Images are to my knowledge, CC0 and are sourced from Pixabay.com unless otherwise noted. <<

  • Writer's pictureD.C. Ballard

Log Entry 12


Like a shock-tube ride. It is pulsing, almost like it is alive. Mesmerizing.

Two hours until the actual exit from jump. There is apparently a sequence to how you exit jump, you don't just pop back into Real-Space like the traditional drives. The drive works differently than I thought and expected.


I deleted 9, 10, and 11. Had a bit of an episode when the auto-sequence didn't trigger right when I expected it. Okay. I freaked out a bit. Took some hacking, but I was able to delete the logs, if not the entry ID's. Yet another skill set that I was taught. I could reprogram the computer if I had to. Could probably rebuild the entire ship.


I remember, near the end of training. I just couldn't draw a clean circle around the justifications they were giving me for why I needed to have near physician level medical skills, not just using the a-doctor, but actually being able to do more than basic first aid. Why would I need to know how to program the system and be debug it manually? Why did I need to know how to use the military weapons, and the advanced infantry, EVA enhanced, armor? Why did I need to have Exo-biologist training, drive physics, engineering, etc..., etc...


The answer they gave me was again that it was just precaution. I wasn't buying it at that point. My education had far exceeded anyone else, ever. I had checked. Hacked through the firewall without them knowing, and I was able to confirm that I had more education than any tech. Perhaps not to the level of specialty the advanced techs I was dealing with, but I could have held my own against any mid-level tech.


That time I pushed, and they finally gave in. Took me into a big conference room and I got to meet the lead techs. They do actually exist. They explained to me why. They explained that the Viteză Furie was a different kind of ship. That the Viteză Furie was the culmination of centuries of advancement. They walked me through the way it was designed, and I actually understood most of it, which seemed to make them happy. Almost as if my training was as much as part of the experimental ship that is the Viteză Furie, as the ship itself.


The whole meeting. Hours of them laying it all out on the table, was that they really didn't know what would happen. They knew that the drive worked, but even they were not really sure where I would end up, and so they wanted to ensure that I was able to survive. It made sense. Still does. Yet.... I still cannot help but wonder if there wasn't more to it that they didn't tell me. I suppose I may never know.

24 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page