top of page

Welcome to my little corner of the universe.

I am D.C. Ballard.

Author. Tabletop Game Master.

Husband. Father. Pet Papa.

Certified and Proud Mega-Nerd. 

I write Sci-Fi/Sci-Fan, and Sci-Fi Erotica.

Any NSFW posts will be clearly marked, and any of the NAUGHTY stuff will be after the fold.

 

Here in this blog I will share with you, oh weary wanderer of the Internets, some of my creative endeavors.

There will be at least two ongoing, if not always regularly updated, stories. I will also post the occasional teaser and snippet from my other work, including published, and not yet published work.

>> All Content is © D.C.Ballard 2019 <<

>> All Images are to my knowledge, CC0 and are sourced from Pixabay.com unless otherwise noted. <<

  • Writer's pictureD.C. Ballard

Log Entry 130


The protective rocks that keep the cove calm, and safe from the crashing waves beyond. You can hear them roaring every few minutes, almost like clockwork. The largest world in the image is were Liss and Arl should be, the other two are either additional moons of this world, of the other moon, or are all just part of an even larger system we haven't fully seen yet. There is a lot going on.

It has been some time since we landed, and I use the word loosely. Don't get me wrong, we did not out-right crash, but it was not a soft landing either. We were just going too fast, and while I had some control, we hit hard. If I hadn't been able to steer us over the ocean, skim the surface to slow down, jump the barrier rocks shown in the picture, and then skim the cove they protect, we would have simply slammed into the massive cliffs. As it is, we came to rest only about a hundred meters from them, and left a deep skid through the sand and dirt.

I really do not know how long I have actually been here. It has taken a lot of time to get everything working again, power restored, systems rebooted, and get function back. The Lounge module is intact, structurally and otherwise. I've pressurized it and there are no leaks, so the hull is solid. Credit to CTs designs, and all the extra tech and materials I picked up from my friends and added to the ship. Unfortunately, I haven't managed to re-gain communications with the satellites, and therefore the other modules to find out how they are doing, or if they even made it to the surface. I try not to worry about them. I have confidence in both Arl and Liss, but I'm also scared for them. I just hope that they made it down safe and are okay.

Without the connection to the satellites, I am only guessing at how long we have been here. There is so much going on with this world. It has more moons, and may in fact be a moon in its own-right of something even larger. We are still seeing oddities in the way things work here. Everything works. All my gear, weapons, the core systems, now that power is back, but the time is broken on all of it. I cannot set them and get it to stick. There is something fundamental about the way the time function works that is off here, and that is, I think, the key to getting everything working. I just have to figure that out. Really the time function is distorted. I set it, and it starts jumping around. I think that is the problem with the more complex computer systems like the AIs. The Viteză Furies main computers don't use time to time their calculations, it uses the speed of light, because the entire thing is optical. So, even if the speed of light were slightly different, it would be unaffected by a change to the way time works. Systems like the Fusion plant use the same optical control systems and computers, because they are original... So thinking about it, there does seem to be a pattern to way the time is distorted in those systems that need it. If I can figure it out, I might be able to get the rest of things working.

There are days and night here, but they are not that of a typical world. There is a lot going on in the skies, both during the day and at night. The reveal of additional worlds that were hidden in the glare of the distant star. The way they move through the sky, slowly, seem to suggest that this world may not be the center of the system, but one of many massive moons of an even more massive center. I just need to get the other systems up and running to be able to tell that.

Gravity on the surface is actually less than I maintained on the ship, which was much higher than my home world. It was an easy way to ensure we all kept in shape. The atmosphere is very breathable, and now that I have the medical systems working, mostly, there doesn't seem to be any immediate or long term dangers. I only wish I could have gotten things working sooner.

Jen was injured in the final lurch as we came to a stop. There was nothing Edix or I could do. She got knocked out of the restraints, the buckle sheared off from the force. We did all we could. I asked her to hold out, but she knew what was happening. Her systems were failing, and her cybernetics were the only thing keeping her alive. I cannot imagine the pain she was in.

When Edix and I were out scouting, she took her flyer out, with a grenade. Transmitted as much as she should from as high as she could get, so Edix and I could have a map of the nearby area. She then shut off her camera feed and flew out to sea. We don't know what actually happened to her, but we can guess. The loss of tracking signal was... sudden. Edix and I cried.

The images Jen got us allowed me to identify our location against the observations we made from orbit. We are what to this world is an island. A body of land so large that it would dwarf the total land mass of my home world. The scale of things is insane here. There are cliffs that surround the small cove we have found ourselves in. Those cliffs are nearly a kilometer high, and beyond them is a small slope and then a massive plain. There are mountains in the distance, a few hundred kilometers. Given the scale here. Those mountains are tens of kilometers high.

Damn it. I miss Jen. Edix has decided to do some scouting, taking a collection of drones and gear. I think he also needed to get away to deal with the loss of Jen. That, and it lets me extend the food stores. He's taken a bunch of lab gear to do testing on any animal and plant-life he can find. There is some here in the cove, but it is limited.


I printed a small boat and had some fishing gear in storage left over from a previous rest stop. With that, I have been able to catch some fish, as well as some other sea life. Most of which has tested edible, and if cooked right, quite tasty. Well... most of it. There is this one thing that I cannot stand, but Edix goes nuts for. So we keep a few of those on hand. It is a great treat for him, but he cannot have too much. Wrecks his stomach.

Time to get back to figuring out what the issue is with the remaining systems, and maybe figuring out what is different here. If I can do that, I can establish communications and find out what happened with Arl and Liss.

47 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page