top of page

Welcome to my little corner of the universe.

I am D.C. Ballard.

Author. Tabletop Game Master.

Husband. Father. Pet Papa.

Certified and Proud Mega-Nerd. 

I write Sci-Fi/Sci-Fan, and Sci-Fi Erotica.

Any NSFW posts will be clearly marked, and any of the NAUGHTY stuff will be after the fold.

 

Here in this blog I will share with you, oh weary wanderer of the Internets, some of my creative endeavors.

There will be at least two ongoing, if not always regularly updated, stories. I will also post the occasional teaser and snippet from my other work, including published, and not yet published work.

>> All Content is © D.C.Ballard 2019 <<

>> All Images are to my knowledge, CC0 and are sourced from Pixabay.com unless otherwise noted. <<

  • Writer's pictureD.C. Ballard

Log Entry 139


The view of waves crashing against the secondary peak from my observation post. It is getting wet and knocked around by the waves, but so far hasn't been damaged.

The surf is up. Our part of the mountain isn't getting hit by huge waves much, but the secondary peak is getting pounded. I'll have to take a look at how the slopes are different to see why the waves for us break several hundred meters out, but just pummel the secondary peak. From what I can glean from the pics I took, the secondary peak has much more sheer sides. If the waves are coming from the other side, we'd be getting beat up like the secondary peak, but it is coming in from the side we use to get up to the top, which has a nice slope to it. I guess we're lucking there.

Still, these waves are being pushed ahead of the storm, so they come with big bands of rain and wind. So far we have seen gusts of 100 kilometers per hour. The general water level has risen a few meters, but still well below the level of the village. I just hope it doesn't get much higher, or the village will in fact be in danger of flooding.

I have been monitoring the storm with drones, and it looks like it is going to pass mostly south of us, but we're going to be stuck in the out bands of it for several days. I am actually glad we managed to catch some fish in the stream before the storm started. Those fish may be all we eat, and I'm about the only one that it is truly safe to move around the village if the winds get much worse. I've started setting up safety ropes for those that insist on moving around.

Frydai has proven more than happy to work on the inside of the house, as we got the outer walls done. We only put up one door. The other two we boarded over until after the storm has passed, same with the windows. We do have the inner walls going up, and the insulation is in place between the outer and inner sides of the outer walls. Frydai didn't initially understand what I was doing by spending so much time carving a stone column. What I was doing was building a fireplace, and I can see just how much he appreciates it with the cold winds outside.

The elders were equally astonished by it. I explained that after the storm, I can help them add such things to all their houses, so they too can stay warmer. One log of the same wood we used to build the house burns for almost a day because of how dense it is. I will have to teach them how to make bricks, but it'll be a quick lesson, and they'll be better for it. I caught one of the elders recording some of the things I have already taught them in the chronicle. Didn't mention it, but I sure hope they are able to grow and prosper with my help.

I have wondered if I am playing god by teaching them things. I don't really think so. Their ancestors were marooned here just as I am. I see no reason why I cannot help them reclaim some of what their people once had, before that first tide took so many of their lives.

The underwater drones have found the monsters of which the chronicle speaks. There are creatures out there in the deeps that are horrors of truly massive proportions. I've now seen fish like things that were almost a kilometer long, nose to tail tip, with hundred meter long tentacles they use to grab onto smaller creatures and pull them into their mouth. Some of them have bite marks on them, where they have clearly either fought with each other, or more likely, some other creature, a predator of some kind that I have not yet seen.

These leviathan like monsters ignore my drones, and so I have been able to collect samples of their tissue for analysis. I was even able to send a drone into one's mouth, which I why I think there is a predator out there. The mouth of the creatures I have thus far observed don't match up to the scaring the same creatures show. In appearance, what I have seen so far seem very similar to the fish we trapped for food in the stream.

My aerial drone did finally reach the distant mountains where I could see what looked like camp fire and structures. It has had to hover well above the storm that moved in over those peaks just before it got there. Once the storm clears, I will hopefully get a view of what is actually there. They got hit with the opposite edge of the same storm we are contending with. It is sliding right between us, but as I think I mentioned, is going to be many days in the passing before my drone can safely descend to look at what I am sure are encampments, or we here at Sanctuary village are safe

15 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page