top of page

Welcome to my little corner of the universe.

I am D.C. Ballard.

Author. Tabletop Game Master.

Husband. Father. Pet Papa.

Certified and Proud Mega-Nerd. 

I write Sci-Fi/Sci-Fan, and Sci-Fi Erotica.

Any NSFW posts will be clearly marked, and any of the NAUGHTY stuff will be after the fold.

 

Here in this blog I will share with you, oh weary wanderer of the Internets, some of my creative endeavors.

There will be at least two ongoing, if not always regularly updated, stories. I will also post the occasional teaser and snippet from my other work, including published, and not yet published work.

>> All Content is © D.C.Ballard 2019 <<

>> All Images are to my knowledge, CC0 and are sourced from Pixabay.com unless otherwise noted. <<

  • Writer's pictureD.C. Ballard

Log Entry 16


Some of the beautiful objects the astronomic suite is seeing. The sensors say that they have found a living world. All the signs of life, even intelligence maybe.

About a third of the way done with the stores reorganization. Been coasting for a week now. Some beautiful sights in the data record now. Yet, still not even a hint of where I might be. Which is both worrying, and at this point, not unexpected. I'm beginning to wonder if the system will ever actually figure out where we are.


I say ever actually figure it out, because, during a few breaks from moving stores around, I've been reviewing the code of the system. I found some default outputs, which are really worrying. Essentially, they were programmatic stop-gaps to make me feel better. If triggered, one of which would have actually gone off yesterday, it would have told me I was about 50 thousand light years farther than expected, about a 1/4 of the way around the galaxy.


Thing is. That would not have actually been true. It would have just been a programmed fake to make me feel good and get me to trigger the drive. There were a dozen of them, and I am finding them in other systems as well. They have a very simple structure, so I wrote a code review script and have it running, flagging every instance of that sort of thing. I'm reviewing each one on breaks from moving stores, cleaning, and other stuff.


First thing I went through was the life support, but I went through that code myself, line by line. Isn't a big system, so it only took a half day. Only found three. I updated them to actually tell me what is actually happening if triggered. Same with all the others I have found. Now they are real outputs, not the fake, feel goods, that were set up.


I've also found some oddities about the construction of the Viteză Furie. She has some bulkheads in odd places. Still trying to figure it out, mapping them on the ships layout. Not sure what it means yet.


Well. Back to work.

47 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page