top of page

Welcome to my little corner of the universe.

I am D.C. Ballard.

Author. Tabletop Game Master.

Husband. Father. Pet Papa.

Certified and Proud Mega-Nerd. 

I write Sci-Fi/Sci-Fan, and Sci-Fi Erotica.

Any NSFW posts will be clearly marked, and any of the NAUGHTY stuff will be after the fold.

 

Here in this blog I will share with you, oh weary wanderer of the Internets, some of my creative endeavors.

There will be at least two ongoing, if not always regularly updated, stories. I will also post the occasional teaser and snippet from my other work, including published, and not yet published work.

>> All Content is © D.C.Ballard 2019 <<

>> All Images are to my knowledge, CC0 and are sourced from Pixabay.com unless otherwise noted. <<

  • Writer's pictureD.C. Ballard

Log Entry 17


The main corridor, the core, of the Viteză Furie, and the illuminated cloud behind which the possible quasar hides.

I've finished getting everything stored again. The core passage is now clear again. All the crates, and bins, and bags, and everything else, no longer makes walking down the passage difficult. Don't know how many times I tripped over something these past two weeks.


Still nothing from the navigation or astronomical systems. Going to give it another week, but it is recording some beautiful things. It has so far pinged on a single quasar that might, and I do mean might, be one on record. However, it is on the far side of a massive intergalactic nebula, so it is going to take some extra observations to determine if it is in fact the one on file.


Problem with that. Even if it is. There is no intergalactic nebula like that between home and the quasar in question. I've instructed the system to hunt for pulsar's as well.


Still mapping the odd bulkheads on the ship. Coming to realize that there is more to the Viteză Furie than I thought. The construction seems almost modular, each apparent module has it's own set of subsystems. I knew that the command module had independent systems, but didn't expect that in the lab. Independent power, life support, computers, etc... All mirrored. Only the ET/EC comm system is not mirrored, that and the drive system. At least I think the drive systems are not mirrored. Each modules systems mirror the others, including full data duplication down to the microsecond, control systems, everything.


I had thought that when I accessed the Command module systems from the galley, I was just accessing those systems remotely. I'm not. I'm actually accessing the command systems in a distributed processing setup. While the Viteză Furie could be run by any one of these sub-systems, they all run in a cluster, reducing resource use. But if I had to. If all the others went offline, the systems in the galley, or the lab, or my quarters, would be able to operate the entirety of the Viteză Furie without issues. Why in any sort of sense does that make sense?


I suppose that, if you really have no idea what is going to happen, you over engineer things so that any eventuality is covered. If so, then each independent module should have independent drive systems as well. I'm going to need to check that out.

32 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page