top of page

Welcome to my little corner of the universe.

I am D.C. Ballard.

Author. Tabletop Game Master.

Husband. Father. Pet Papa.

Certified and Proud Mega-Nerd. 

I write Sci-Fi/Sci-Fan, and Sci-Fi Erotica.

Any NSFW posts will be clearly marked, and any of the NAUGHTY stuff will be after the fold.

 

Here in this blog I will share with you, oh weary wanderer of the Internets, some of my creative endeavors.

There will be at least two ongoing, if not always regularly updated, stories. I will also post the occasional teaser and snippet from my other work, including published, and not yet published work.

>> All Content is © D.C.Ballard 2019 <<

>> All Images are to my knowledge, CC0 and are sourced from Pixabay.com unless otherwise noted. <<

  • Writer's pictureD.C. Ballard

Log Entry 18


A Garage that I didn't know I had, with a vehicle sized 3D printer, and wasn't on the maps.

So there I am, investigating the modules that actually make up the Viteză Furie, mapping out the ship as it were. I'm doing good, things are lining up to the maps I have. The odd, thicker than you'd think, lines on the ship map line up with the module bulkheads. The ship is the picture of redundancy. Each one is a full, airtight, bulkhead. Just part of the redundant systems.


I have given up on figuring out where I am, at least from where I am. Maybe after the next jump, but wherever I am now, nothing. I can only hope that wherever I come out of jump this next time will be somewhere I can recognize, even identify. Even if I am in a distant galaxy, so long as I can identify where, I should be able to calculate a jump home. Then again. The ET/EC comms are still silent, so the outgoing queue just keeps growing.


I've actually been forced to reprogram the system so that it is stores the outgoing queue in a secondary database that I built specifically to hold things awaiting transmission. It is worrisome. What is the point, even if I am lost, if what I learn, the data I collect, can never get home?


The amount of data that I am collecting is amazing. Been coasting for a month now at .8895c while I get things figured out. This is clearly no longer just a test flight. I am lost, and not just a little bit. If I'm lucky, I'll figure out where in the universe I might be. Still, a freak out or other melt down is not going to do me any good. I've also been loading up on nutrients to compensate for the reduced uptake that seemed to happen during jump.


I've confirmed that each module has drive systems, and more. They even have deploy-able control surfaces for atmospheric maneuvering and control, just like the Viteză Furie itself. Verified that in the code, and then by locating the panels and checking them. This ship is engineered for just about anything. Even the 3D printers are duplicated and capable of printing just about anything.


I am sitting there, staring through the lines of code of the core system components, when I see something that doesn't make sense. References in the code to something I have not seen on the ships map, and that I have not seen, yet when I look at the map, it should clearly be there. I just assumed it was fuel tanks or something. Nope. I have a garage! A garage with a massive 3D printer, that can print me any number of vehicles, both land, sea, space, and air.


Feeling a bit scattered after everything, the full realization that I am hopelessly lost, and the only thing I can do is move forward. I think I will jump again in a few days. Just let the program play out. See where I end up, and hope for better results on that end.


Going through millions of lines of code is tiring. My script found thousands of instance of the false output code. Each evaluated, updated, and I have a new script that keeps an eye on them. I caught something, an embedded subroutine of the system that was going through and fixing my changes. I have co-opted that subroutine, and now it belongs to me. Made it easier as it had ALL of the instances and I just went through those and updated them, and it did the rest of the leg work for me.


Time for a good nights rest. Tomorrow is tomorrow. Each day as it comes. The Music and other entertainment is really helping me get through.

20 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page