top of page

Welcome to my little corner of the universe.

I am D.C. Ballard.

Author. Tabletop Game Master.

Husband. Father. Pet Papa.

Certified and Proud Mega-Nerd. 

I write Sci-Fi/Sci-Fan, and Sci-Fi Erotica.

Any NSFW posts will be clearly marked, and any of the NAUGHTY stuff will be after the fold.

 

Here in this blog I will share with you, oh weary wanderer of the Internets, some of my creative endeavors.

There will be at least two ongoing, if not always regularly updated, stories. I will also post the occasional teaser and snippet from my other work, including published, and not yet published work.

>> All Content is © D.C.Ballard 2019 <<

>> All Images are to my knowledge, CC0 and are sourced from Pixabay.com unless otherwise noted. <<

  • Writer's pictureD.C. Ballard

Log Entry 2


Aurora over the Coast, New Seattle, caused by the Solar Storm that is making me wait.

Fuel rods are loaded, but now control is making me wait. They say that the conditions are not right. They are correct. We need to let the solar storm pass. I've suggested some alternatives. I mean. The Viteză Furie is more than capable of outrunning the storm, but that is not the direction they want me to go. So I have to wait. Turns out these logs are going to be more useful than I thought.

It might be days, but I do get it. They want this test to be perfect. I'm only going to the farthest colony on Kohelic, what was once known as Kepler-1638 a few centuries ago. That's about 880 parsecs, 2900 light years or so. Give or take. It should take me three days, according to the tech's. I'm supposed to drop out of jump after two days to confirm where I am, that I am on course, test navigation systems, etc..., etc..., etc... They're killing me with this. Not that I need to do it, but they keep repeating it as if I was going to forget it.

Oh well. I've pentuple checked everything. Everything is locked. My command codes are entered and the system is locked to my command set. It would literally take an act of the systems congress and the Presidents advisory council combined to override me. I could just leave now, but I won't. I won't because this working is important. It is important to not just this world. It is important to all of the colonies, and our ability to make more colonies. There is in fact only 30 worlds that we can actually colonize without massive engineering projects to alter their environments. There are LOTS of worlds within 10,000 light years, but only 30 we can readily live on.

Well. On that note. I'm going to go make sure my quarters, the galley, and everything else is properly set up. Got nothing better to do.

34 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page