top of page

Welcome to my little corner of the universe.

I am D.C. Ballard.

Author. Tabletop Game Master.

Husband. Father. Pet Papa.

Certified and Proud Mega-Nerd. 

I write Sci-Fi/Sci-Fan, and Sci-Fi Erotica.

Any NSFW posts will be clearly marked, and any of the NAUGHTY stuff will be after the fold.

 

Here in this blog I will share with you, oh weary wanderer of the Internets, some of my creative endeavors.

There will be at least two ongoing, if not always regularly updated, stories. I will also post the occasional teaser and snippet from my other work, including published, and not yet published work.

>> All Content is © D.C.Ballard 2019 <<

>> All Images are to my knowledge, CC0 and are sourced from Pixabay.com unless otherwise noted. <<

  • Writer's pictureD.C. Ballard

Log Entry 213


Dawn on yet another day here. The fog again thicker than mud, and so we just wait it out. It makes the air almost unbreathable it is so thick.

The life that has arisen on this world after the tide has been truly fantastic. The trees grow in hours from sprouts to a hundred meters in hours. The tallest, who sprout in the best locations, managing to rise literal kilometers into the skies in only a few days. The animals that have roused themselves as well, some from what I though were simply boulders, but were in fact either eggs or cocoons. Perhaps there is a mix of both in play as some are clearly more mature than others as they emerge. The scale of things is truly fantastic, leaving me feeling like an insect.

I've watched the trees, and while there are herbivores that eat their leaves and flesh, there are predators as well, that eat them. What's more, to support the truly fantastic growth, the trees and other plants are very active as well. They have vines and flowers, and even some of their leaves that will capture animals and draw them into themselves to be digested. I've collected toxins, poisons, and venom from the plants and animals. The chemical properties unique and fascinatingly new in some cases, and very familiar in others. I have found one animal, a smaller reptilian, that produces a venom that is chemically identical to a reptile from my home world, only in amounts that are truly astonishing.

The life here lives at a very fast pace, which I suppose makes sense, as I play out my simulations, I see how the weather is shifting. With the worlds of this systems, and the multiple stars, moving into a different kind of configurations. It is going to get hotter. Not hotter than my friends and I cannot withstand. Really, it'll be just warmer than it has been, maybe ten to fifteen degrees. A proper summer. This does however mean that the rains and such will not be as common, so all this life that is so thirsty, will need to either chase the water and the rains inland, or go into hibernation, into the dormancy that it existed in when I got here.

I am overseeing Frydai and a team hook up the last of the connections and equipment needed to power the purification and material collection processors. He is taking point, directing everything, I am just making sure it all plays right. It is his first time leading. He is doing a great job.


For the moment, the 3D printers are out of commission for most uses. At least, until this new refinery setup that Frydai is leading the implementation of starts working. The design is an update that Frydai came up with, so I am letting him do the work. I'm just keeping an eye on things. It should be at least three times as efficient as the design we had on file, and will allow us to generate much more fresh water than the main filtration system.


They have scrubbed out a dozen of the larger pools, and we will begin filling them from this setup. It will still require that we test the water to ensure it is as clean as we think it will be. Frydai thought of that and added some additional systems to check that in line. He really is very smart.

I was surprised how good at swimming they are, until I started teaching them. They can hold their breath for a very long time, and with some diving masks we printed using some of the last of the materials we had, they were able to scrub out the ponds in a few days. We've even discussed seeding a few of the larger ones with fish, an idea that they found strange initially, until Frydai started explaining the benefits.

Once the source material tanks are full again, the first thing I will be building is a rocket and satellite. This one will go into a geostationary orbit, assuming I have my calculations right. It'll give us a much better view of things, and after I get about a dozen up there, will let us manage a sort of basic positioning system, which will get more accurate as time goes on and we add more satellites to the group. It will take time, but it will be worth it.


The scar crystals, while not growing at the moment, still encase all the dive ports. I'll be using some new fittings added to the fuel lines in order to drain off fuel and load that into the tanks of the new rockets.

I've put off building a flyer until the flying life is less prevalent. I've lost four drones to it and would rather not have to pull aerial combat with something that thinks I'm food. That, and given some of the things I have seen in the extreme distance from a drone, just before it got taken down. I want to get a better lay of the land. I saw what might be lights, as in city lights. Maybe. It was too distant to know, and the cameras on the drone just were not up to the task.

It is time for the festival, which includes a dance and social for the younger members of the tribe. Frydai has grown into a strong and intelligent adult, and makes a truly excellent assistant. He knows how to use all the equipment, and has started keeping a log of his own. His input on the council has proven invaluable, and resulted in many improvements in their lives. I've very proud of him, and every time I see him I am reminded of the thoughtlessness of what I did to place him in my care.

Once the life starts calming down a little, perhaps a year or so from now, if the chronicle is to be believed. I plan to do some exploring. Though I haven't talked to Frydai about it, I expect he will want to join me. The plan would be to create an interface that the tribe can use to communicate with me, or us, as well as giving them access to the data-banks. That's the current version of the plan, in my head anyway. I will have to discuss the plans with at some point, but those are still a long way off.

Looks like they are just about done and time to turn the system on. We're going to test it, but the official activation will be part of the festivals opening ceremony.


Hey Frydai! Mel-ket ketthe threel an-deaku? ... Kael ha! Kael ha! Toolva? Kael ha ha ha!

Oops. forgot to turn off transcription.

12 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page