top of page

Welcome to my little corner of the universe.

I am D.C. Ballard.

Author. Tabletop Game Master.

Husband. Father. Pet Papa.

Certified and Proud Mega-Nerd. 

I write Sci-Fi/Sci-Fan, and Sci-Fi Erotica.

Any NSFW posts will be clearly marked, and any of the NAUGHTY stuff will be after the fold.

 

Here in this blog I will share with you, oh weary wanderer of the Internets, some of my creative endeavors.

There will be at least two ongoing, if not always regularly updated, stories. I will also post the occasional teaser and snippet from my other work, including published, and not yet published work.

>> All Content is © D.C.Ballard 2019 <<

>> All Images are to my knowledge, CC0 and are sourced from Pixabay.com unless otherwise noted. <<

  • Writer's pictureD.C. Ballard

Log Entry 219-1

One of my other Drones appears to have survived the avians. I don't know where it is, but it is in a high, hot dessert. The waters of the tide never reached there, but neither does any rain. There do appear to be roads or trails through the nearly flat landscape, and what looks to be a distant volcanic mountain. The scan is again hard to reconcile, as with everything about this world.


Once I get the rocket finished and the new satellite launched, I'll be in a better spot. That'll be in just a few weeks actually. Printing the last of the avionics while I finish assembling the satellite. It is more compact than the old ones, but it has a connected ET/EC, and it's camera's and communications capabilities will greatly enhance things for us.


I actually have a group of five satellites I will be launching, initially. I don't have the data needed to do geostationary yet, and this group of five should give me that, with only a few hours gap between their orbits. Assuming I have my estimates of the planets size right. I'm designing their orbital paths to progress, but along a north to south progression so that they will always pass overhead of me here, but give me a full, progressively detail improved view of the planet as a whole.


Clar proved to be absolutely fascinated by the process and has been very helpful. She has a knack for the math and concepts. Where I lean on the computer, she is able to do it herself with the computer as assistant. I just put in what I want and let the computer come up with it, she comes up with it and tells the computer to give her the details and confirm. Her knack is fabulous really. If we ever get the engines cleared, I think she's make an amazing navigator.


Frydai has clearly discussed the other implants he plans, and what we found with the scans, with them, his mates. The information has spread throughout the village. With the elders agreement, everyone who had reached the age to participate in the festival will have the option to have the communication implant done. It's easy. Only takes about an hour. We'll be announcing it at the next full tribal meeting. Kind of like a city council meeting, so I may have a quick line of people looking to get the implants. Younger members who are old enough to be on their own, but not yet old enough for the festival will get hand-held units, as well as anyone who doesn't want the implant. They are really embracing the technology.


The farm tools I had printed a while back have been very useful, and the next harvest will be one of the larger ones they have ever had. Enough that there might be surplus. They're also doing a good job of fully domesticating the squirrel like creatures. They now use them to pull plows and do other work. We also learned that the fur on their tails grows back very quickly, and it makes excellent cloth, so there are now always a few of them walking around with shaved tails.


As for the original survivors. We as a council are still discussing that. They're not overly concerned about disturbing the bodies. They've had conversation about removing the bodies in the past in order to use that set of caves for storage as the village grew. As such, I have been able to collect the various implants and study them in more detail. With the scans and tear down of the implants now in the system, I've been able to get the designs updated, and matched to the engineered anchor points in their bodies, as well as ID what they were. I also have the brain implants. I've identified several that were damaged and returned those. The others are labeled and awaiting a decision from the council as a whole.


I have determined what I would need to do, using an adaptive connector to bring up the persons recording inside a virtual environment. Isolating the host system from the rest of the module systems. I have not undertaken that yet, just planned it out. I don't feel I have a right to vote on this particular one. I am will be abstaining. I answer questions about the process, about what I have found, but I otherwise isolate myself from these specific discussions. I'm already so far out in the weeds on this, ethically, I don't know which way is up and if I can ever figure it out at this point.


Frydai has also undergone another set of upgrades, now that we have the deeper scans, and the implants from the survivors. He's got a full lung implant, replacing one of his four, and a secondary cardio implant. He's also got a bio-monitor system, and the full comm's implant so we can have conversations even when we cannot verbalize. His impressions of it were interesting, to say the least. He has more planned, but wants to heal from and get used to these new parts of him first. The bio-monitor gives him such a view into his own body that he was slightly freaked out by it and I had to work with him to quiet it down. Once we got things manageable, he loved it.


Things are just moving fast right now. We have a team that is carving a road, using drone scans to identify the most stable and fastest route to Sanctuary. They're using some new tools that we printed just before I started building the rocket. It is letting them create a hardened road by essentially super-heating the ground and letting it cool. They drive one of the four wheel vehicles with the road unit mounted on a trailer. It's a team of four. A driver, an operator, and two guards. They're all armed should they need it, but the guards are usually enough to keep the majority of the beasts at bay. They'll be laying the road all the way up the mountain as well, making for a better, safer, and faster trip up the mountain the next time we need it. Should be done in about six months. The crews work in shifts of about a week each. It wasn't even my idea, it was Hearl's, and he's taken on the foreman role, making sure it gets done safely and right.


I'm so proud of Frydai's choice in mates. Both Hearl and Clar are great people, they love and care for Frydai and each other. Despite their youth, they clearly understand that making sure to keep the connection between each other is important. I look forward to seeing how they grow as people and together. I have hopes that they last, because they are so great together.

11 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page