top of page

Welcome to my little corner of the universe.

I am D.C. Ballard.

Author. Tabletop Game Master.

Husband. Father. Pet Papa.

Certified and Proud Mega-Nerd. 

I write Sci-Fi/Sci-Fan, and Sci-Fi Erotica.

Any NSFW posts will be clearly marked, and any of the NAUGHTY stuff will be after the fold.

 

Here in this blog I will share with you, oh weary wanderer of the Internets, some of my creative endeavors.

There will be at least two ongoing, if not always regularly updated, stories. I will also post the occasional teaser and snippet from my other work, including published, and not yet published work.

>> All Content is © D.C.Ballard 2019 <<

>> All Images are to my knowledge, CC0 and are sourced from Pixabay.com unless otherwise noted. <<

  • Writer's pictureD.C. Ballard

Log Entry 220-1


A view across the storage and support structure of both houses. The houses are connected and have power, which will be great and ensures I can power connections to the module. Power module is in my house, as it is in a secondary cave we dug.

So much has happened. Both houses are almost finished, Mine, and Frydai, Clar, and Hearl's. Frydai and I discussed it, and we agreed to go forward and use some more advanced building techniques. It has allowed us to build structures that are larger, multi-level, and should survive the next tide without problems, at least to the structure. My future home is actually smaller than theirs, but they are building it for three with room for kits, should they have any. I can always expand if needed.

They haven't decided if they are going to have kits, or not, though if they do, they expect it'll be a few seasons before they cross that bridge. They are all still young and want to make sure that their relationship as mates is strong before adding in kits to the mix. Very mature of them.

Frydai is currently in the A-Doc undergoing more modifications. This will be his last set for a while. This takes him farther than their ancestors were. He'll be about 10% cybernetic once this is finished. He has proven to be very mature about it. My only concern is that I might have somehow influenced his decisions in an unintentional way. He, as well as Clar and Hearl, assure me otherwise.

The road to Sanctuary village has been finished, all the way up to the village. They even laid some streets at the top of the mountain, providing for a lot of growth. The council is planning to have a permanent presence at the village in a few seasons. Younger members of the tribe taking shifts of a few months there. While there, they will train to fight. When they return, they will go to school to find their best profession.

The school and the knowledge I have given them access to has really changed the culture of the tribe, but I suppose any contact I had with them would have. It still bothers me sometimes. A question of ethics I am not up to answering. I've brought it up in council, and the other elders understood, but point also to their ancestors, how they were more like me than like the tribe when I met them. How it is my presence that is allowing them to reclaim some piece of what they lost.

To that end, the decision was made to revive those that we can, in order to interview them. That job will be left to Frydai and I, as only we have the implants needed to interact with the isolated virtual environment. This is also why I have not brought the first one online yet. Both Frydai and I need to work in that environment ourselves a bit first, so we can understand it.

The next festival is a few months away now, and with that, my decision is coming to a head. Frydai has taken some glee in teasing me about it. That said, I have approached the question in my own way, and I think I know what my answer is. I'm simply going to go to the festival and see what happens.

Well, it is time to launch the next satellite. I've got a group of seven up now. This next one will be number eight, and with it, I should be able to close the communication gap. That will hopefully also let me get a location Edix. I miss him. When I launch number ten, it will be facing outward, and be my first eyes out to the rest of the system that isn't tied to the ground here. That one should let me finally start observations of the moon that the rest of the ship was headed towards. I'm hopeful, but nervous.

13 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page