top of page

Welcome to my little corner of the universe.

I am D.C. Ballard.

Author. Tabletop Game Master.

Husband. Father. Pet Papa.

Certified and Proud Mega-Nerd. 

I write Sci-Fi/Sci-Fan, and Sci-Fi Erotica.

Any NSFW posts will be clearly marked, and any of the NAUGHTY stuff will be after the fold.

 

Here in this blog I will share with you, oh weary wanderer of the Internets, some of my creative endeavors.

There will be at least two ongoing, if not always regularly updated, stories. I will also post the occasional teaser and snippet from my other work, including published, and not yet published work.

>> All Content is © D.C.Ballard 2019 <<

>> All Images are to my knowledge, CC0 and are sourced from Pixabay.com unless otherwise noted. <<

  • Writer's pictureD.C. Ballard

Log Entry 221-1


Went for a long walk. Even with the tide now months past, the rains is keeping things lively.

The festival is next week, and I am honestly, very nervous. I really like being on the council, and I don't want to mess that up. I've done enough of that as it is. I know there isn't a lot being expected of me, the other members have reassured me of that. Still, there are questions that I'm not even sure I want to articulate, let alone consider.

Frydai is out of the ADoc and doing well. He's taken to the modifications well. No rejection issues at all, which is good. We've been playing in the virtual environment and are almost ready to bring the first ancestor online. Once we have brought a few of them online, I will have a proper map of how their units work, and with that, possibly be able to pull memories from the damaged ones, even if we cannot recover the persons them self.

I've discussed it with Frydai, and he agrees. We won't discuss the ability to rebuild them a body. We don't even know how these people will react. They may be righteously offended that we did it. There is no telling until we do so and discuss it with them. No matter what, I am sure that we are going to learn a lot.

I've warned Frydai that these people will be different than his people. They were on the ship, and do not have the same kind of background that he does, despite his new state of being.

There are fifteen satellites up now, and I'm getting so much more information about this world, and it's nearer companions. This planet is so much larger than I thought. I mean that. My estimates turned out to be off by several factors of magnitude. It doesn't make any sense unless this entire system is artificial. It matches with the signal that I have to compensate for in all electronic systems. It matches with the way gravity behaves. The mass doesn't math with the size. Almost as if the planet was hollow.

What if it is? A hollow sphere, with a surface on both sides? then what? Why build such a thing? I wonder if that makes the other worlds equally hollow. The nearest few hundred are certainly large enough to be. It is one of the puzzles about this world I haven't answered yet.

Our houses are almost finished. Just some detail work on mine, and a few walls to build for theirs. Frydai guessed right. I am going to dig into the cliff face, but it will be more than just storage. It is going to be emergency shelter. I'm also going to drill a collection of stairways and an elevator shaft. I want us to be better prepared for the next tide. I also want us to be able to do more than subsist here in the cove.

We're fishing, farming, and the squirrel animals are getting put to much better use. They pull carts now. They pull plows, and their tail fur makes for good weaving into strong, warm thread. Clothing is now more than just skins or nothing, though unlike me, my friends have fur themselves. Then again, it isn't as if I need a lot of protection at this point, with the upgrades I have, and Frydai is well on his way to matching.

I've gotten no signal from Edix, nor have my observations of the moon shown anything. I've asked Clar to do the calculations on how much fuel, and how much bigger then rocket needs to be in order to get a satellite, or a dozen, into orbit around that world. That's one thing that Clar is good at. Almost better than the computer. It is rather impressive.

Hearl is doing seismic tests of the cliff using some sensors I've printed for him, as well as some explosives. He's been tasked with identifying where we should dig the stairways and the elevator, with vision towards building more. The winch and basket has already changed things. There is a small group stationed at the top of the cliff on watch.

I expect, given the harvest, the fishing, and other things, that the population of the village is going to bloom over the next few years. I wonder if I will end up a grand-parent as part of that.

15 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page