top of page

Welcome to my little corner of the universe.

I am D.C. Ballard.

Author. Tabletop Game Master.

Husband. Father. Pet Papa.

Certified and Proud Mega-Nerd. 

I write Sci-Fi/Sci-Fan, and Sci-Fi Erotica.

Any NSFW posts will be clearly marked, and any of the NAUGHTY stuff will be after the fold.

 

Here in this blog I will share with you, oh weary wanderer of the Internets, some of my creative endeavors.

There will be at least two ongoing, if not always regularly updated, stories. I will also post the occasional teaser and snippet from my other work, including published, and not yet published work.

>> All Content is © D.C.Ballard 2019 <<

>> All Images are to my knowledge, CC0 and are sourced from Pixabay.com unless otherwise noted. <<

  • Writer's pictureD.C. Ballard

Log Entry 222-1

Updated: Jan 18, 2020


An amazing atmoshperic effect. High altitude water vapor creating a mirror of sorts, and reflecting some mountains that are far on the other side of the planet.

The atmosphere here has provided some amazing photos, but this is something new. A reflection of something so very amazingly distant. An event in the atmosphere that is only possible because the world is so large. Even on a flat plane the horizon would be more than a hundred kilometers away. From the observatory on the peak next to Sanctuary village, I can see so much father. Yet these mountains reflected here are nearly a quarter of the way around the planet.

I'd have never gotten the photo if I didn't have the ability to capture them directly off my eyes.

The houses are fully finished, and the artificial cave has been dug into the cliff wall. The pressure door was a simple thing, and I dug it a lot deeper than I really think I needed. Then again, who knows what I'll need. I sure don't anymore. I'm not sure what has happened, but my life has shifted, again.

There are now thirty satellites in orbit, and still no sign of Edix. Clar has done the calculations, so the next few launches will be to put satellites in orbit around the moon that the rest of the ship crashed on. I'm hoping to at least find it and see what condition it is in. I pray that it made it down intact.

We're also going to be launching some deep space probes. Clar and Hearl's idea. It'll take some time, but it will help provide an even better view and map of the system. The current count is twelve stars and more than a four thousand worlds, all orbiting this central world that we find ourselves marooned. on.

We've also started to dig the shafts for elevators in the cliff, as well as staircases. They're going to be simple things, driven by the same winch that Frydai had us use that made prep for the tide so much more efficient. They won't be for people. Not safe. No safety if the cable snaps, etc... but it will make getting material, crops, supplies, and other things, up and down a lot easier and faster. People will have to use the stairs that we are going to build. Those are going to have rest areas, because it is a long climb. People elevators will come later.

We spun up the first person in the virtual environment. Sadly, they were incomplete and never gained full consciousness. The data on their disk was slightly corrupt, but now that I know what that looks like, I'll be able to address it. We'll be doing the next one in about a week. I'm still studying the data and what we can learn from it. Then I will wipe the system clean so it will be safe to bring up the next one. A quick exam showed more of the same corruption, which appears to be related to time. It's something I can correct for.

Of course I am avoiding discussing what happened at the festival. I'm doing that, because I'm not sure what happened. I still need to think on it. Frydai has his own suggestions, and surrounded with the love and support he has with Clar and Hearl, I'm inclined to take his advice. I have no experience to draw on. Despite everything else, absolutely none.

11 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page