top of page

Welcome to my little corner of the universe.

I am D.C. Ballard.

Author. Tabletop Game Master.

Husband. Father. Pet Papa.

Certified and Proud Mega-Nerd. 

I write Sci-Fi/Sci-Fan, and Sci-Fi Erotica.

Any NSFW posts will be clearly marked, and any of the NAUGHTY stuff will be after the fold.

 

Here in this blog I will share with you, oh weary wanderer of the Internets, some of my creative endeavors.

There will be at least two ongoing, if not always regularly updated, stories. I will also post the occasional teaser and snippet from my other work, including published, and not yet published work.

>> All Content is © D.C.Ballard 2019 <<

>> All Images are to my knowledge, CC0 and are sourced from Pixabay.com unless otherwise noted. <<

  • Writer's pictureD.C. Ballard

Log Entry 30


Another view of Jump space and the apparent vortex that makes it up.

Three weeks in Jump. The view is just as amazing and enthralling as before.

I also have so much more information at my fingertips. It is amazing really. Gonna keep going for three weeks more, and then drop out again. See where I am. With the implants and my deeper, more intimate connection to the Viteză Furie, I feel emboldened. I know I am never making it home, so I just want to explore what wild, weird, and amazing places exist out here in the universe, far beyond what my world knows of.

Still. I am still working on the coding of the printer interface so I can repair the ET/EC. At the very least it will give me peace of mind that my world will learn what I have; get to see at least some of what I have seen. I'm about three quarters done with the coding. The user interface itself is done, I'm just doing the background stuff. The part that actually matters really. I expect that it will still take months to finish, because I am still going to have to compile it, test it, then fix what I find doesn't work.

The garden doesn't seem to care if we are in Jump or not. The plants seem utterly unphased for being in Jump versus not. Though as I know now, the real issue with the Jump stun was because of the rough entry into the ARC drive jump space with the crew compartment strapped to the ship.

I really am still learning the Viteză Furie, it's systems, capabilities, and what it truly is. I feel so much closer to it now, and it does have it's own personality. You hear sailors, spacers, anyone really, that spends long periods on a single ship, and they will all tell you that the ships have personalities. They will describe interacting with their ships as if dealing with people. I totally get that now.

A new thing I have learned.. I have found out that I was given an actual rank. No. Really. I have a commission as the captain of the Viteză Furie. I was given the rank of Commander. This wasn't a hidden file or anything. It was in some of the paperwork that I was going through from the crew compartment. It was given to me so that I would have the authority to override decisions by the exploratory crew. It was in the paperwork for their leader, and refereed to me as Commander and how I had override authority.

So... What did I do? I have given myself a field promotion to full Captain. The Viteză Furie is my ship, I claim it as mine. I am it's captain. Owner. Pilot. Chief engineer. We are partners in this adventure.

Time to get back to coding. Then a run. Gotta keep in shape too.

22 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page