top of page

Welcome to my little corner of the universe.

I am D.C. Ballard.

Author. Tabletop Game Master.

Husband. Father. Pet Papa.

Certified and Proud Mega-Nerd. 

I write Sci-Fi/Sci-Fan, and Sci-Fi Erotica.

Any NSFW posts will be clearly marked, and any of the NAUGHTY stuff will be after the fold.

 

Here in this blog I will share with you, oh weary wanderer of the Internets, some of my creative endeavors.

There will be at least two ongoing, if not always regularly updated, stories. I will also post the occasional teaser and snippet from my other work, including published, and not yet published work.

>> All Content is © D.C.Ballard 2019 <<

>> All Images are to my knowledge, CC0 and are sourced from Pixabay.com unless otherwise noted. <<

  • Writer's pictureD.C. Ballard

Log Entry 31


The ever changing and mesmerizing view out the windows while in jump. Always beautiful, always entrancing.

I have finished the initial coding for the printer interface and build application. I am calling it PRIBA. It is a rough thing, and I already see so many places I need to make changes, updates, etc.... That was to be expected though. It is way too early to use it for the ET/EC repairs. So much so, now that I am done with it and I see how much work it really needs, I re-looked at the idea of using or retro-fitting boards from other systems, and it just isn't possible. The ET/EC system is too different. It is a creation of CT, from before he disappeared, and is just simply more advanced than the other systems.

Since the ET/EC was a creation of CT, I checked for spare boards for the ARC drive control systems. I wish I could easily record laughter in text form without just writing pages of HAHAHAHA!!! Because that is what I ended up doing. It still makes me chuckle. Where the ET/EC is still boards and wires, processors, resisters, and chips, and while it is light years ahead of the other things... If the ET/EC is 10 light years away from the regular systems, the ARC drive is in another galaxy.

CT utilized normally available, essentially off the shelf systems for most of the systems of the Viteză Furie. I'm assuming because they work just fine. Computers, high end to be sure, but still readily available, life support systems, displays, the 3D printers, etc... They are refined, robust, and easy to repair; which is why the specs and plans to print replacements parts are all in the data-banks. Just select what I need, hit print, and wait for it to finish. The ET/EC is a different creature, which is why I need to create the specs based on the damaged boards.

The ARC systems.... Those systems are, as far as I can tell, entirely crystal based. Optical processors and storage drives unlike anything else on-board. I have hundreds of millions of Yottabytes of data storage capability, and that's just what is installed right now. The fact is, the systems are expandable. The volumes of data I can record and store is simply mind boggling.

I am going to be in jump for another week. Once I drop out of jump, I am going back into the ADoc for a few more tests and a few more upgrades. These are the last modifications I expect to undergo. I put them off because I hadn't really committed to them. To any of them actually.

There are two levels you can have the implants done. The first level, which is what I did, is kind of like taking them for a test drive. Relatively easily removed, if you decide it isn't for you, or you are just getting them for a termporary job or something. Had something similar a few years ago for a job. I needed cyber-control connections for a loader. They didn't technically belong to me, and so they got taken out when I moved on from that job. Come to think of it, that is probably where my scans got loaded and why the Tech's knew I'd be good for this job.

So, when I had that first batch of upgrades done. I just had the temporary versions put in. I wanted to test the waters. I wanted to see if I really wanted, if I could really handle them. These new upgrades are permanent. Sure, they could be taken out, but not easily, and not without leaving major scars. These new upgrades will be of the second type, and will change some of the things I have already undergone, upgrading and altering them. Making them more a part of me, instead of being temporary as I said. It will also add a few more things to complete out the set. This includes some things like a Cyber-lung, sensors, and other implants.

Implants and cyber-mod's are looked down on back home, even those needed for a job like the cyber-control connections I had for that job. I never understood it myself, why people didn't like them. Why someone with a replacement leg was somehow less than.., but then again, I never understood the need for them outside of that one job.

Full cyber-mod's like I am about to undergo were the purview of the rich back home. I was never that. But I understand now why they would undergo the upgrades. It really expands your capabilities. I can now fly the Viteză Furie while I am on a run, in the shower, and once these final upgrades are done, only a week or so in the ADoc. I will be as upgraded as I want to be, unless I need to replace a leg or something. Lets hope I don't need that any time soon.

There is so much I understand now. Including, I think, what the display in the ARC drive room is. What I think it is. I think it is a display of the space that I am traveling past. Just distorted by the speed at which I am crossing those distances, and the distortion of looking out into the universe from outside of it, from the ARC drive jump space. At least, that is my current theory.


I'm running some of the stills I have taken from the ARC drive room display through some image re-processing software. The same stuff used to reconstruct the images of galaxies that have undergone gravity lensing. If that is what it is, and the image processing doesn't take long. I might be able to develop even more data, just from what I pass over while in jump. Wouldn't that be something.

Well.... I have an appointment with sleep. So best if I get to it.

20 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page