top of page

Welcome to my little corner of the universe.

I am D.C. Ballard.

Author. Tabletop Game Master.

Husband. Father. Pet Papa.

Certified and Proud Mega-Nerd. 

I write Sci-Fi/Sci-Fan, and Sci-Fi Erotica.

Any NSFW posts will be clearly marked, and any of the NAUGHTY stuff will be after the fold.

 

Here in this blog I will share with you, oh weary wanderer of the Internets, some of my creative endeavors.

There will be at least two ongoing, if not always regularly updated, stories. I will also post the occasional teaser and snippet from my other work, including published, and not yet published work.

>> All Content is © D.C.Ballard 2019 <<

>> All Images are to my knowledge, CC0 and are sourced from Pixabay.com unless otherwise noted. <<

  • Writer's pictureD.C. Ballard

Log Entry 35


Planets formed and orbiting around the literal center of the young universe named Trost. Both gas and early rocky worlds. Their compositions are amazing, and I took samples, resupplied, and left many probes behind.

I set up the Satellites, and have made a jump deep into the center of Trost. I wanted to see it, if it was actually there. I wanted to know if CT really was as smart as he seems.... Hint. He is, or was.

I dare not get closer than this, but this view is not of a star, but of the literal center of the universe I have named Trost. CT called it the Flash-Point. The place in space where a flaw in the fabric of space allowed the energies of places like ARC space, to leak into regular space, building up until, depending on how big the flaw is, they explode and give birth to a universe. Those first odd gravity wave signals that preceded the actual shock-waves of the explosion itself, are the final moments of that flaw rupturing fully and releasing all the energy that had built up within.

The Flash-Point is the scar left behind. A region of solid energy. If CT's writings are to be believed, you could harvest the Flash-Point as some kind of crystalline energy, which you could then charge up and set off to create an artificial fissure in space, resulting in an artificial Flash-Point. Literally creating your own universe. Hell. If I take his writing at face value, he suggests that you could even tune that artificial universe to have specific properties. Such as deciding if that universe will be all anti-matter or not. I know. That is a stretch, even for CT.

I have kept the system up and processing the images taken from the the ARC display. Have improved the speed of it. It is now able to process about one image per day. Some amazing views. Sadly though, I have concluded that my hope to determine how fast I am going in jump using those images as a measuring stick is a lost cause. Still, some beautiful images.

That said. I did succeed in laying out the satellite constellation. Each one is 10,000 light years from the others. One full second in Jump was 1,000 light years of travel. I have slowed down to just above .55c. I then used that in my jumps towards Trost and the center above. First two seconds, 2,000 light years. Three seconds was an amazing 7,500 light years. Ten seconds was 50,000 light years. So fast. I then accelerated to my usual speed and found that the first few test were the same. It was after the ten seconds that things went sideways. entering jump at .95c, I traveled 5 million light years in a two minute jump.

I thus commenced an experiment, and worked my way up at .05c per jump set. One second, two, three, five, ten, thirty, and then one and five minutes. I now have a rudimentary map of how fast I am going, and the speed is just down right insane. That said, I can target something that is only a light year away, as long as I enter in the destination, the system will set the jump time accordingly. The system seems to know how long to be in jump, even if that is fractions of a second. No, I have not found the way it calculates that, and I am seriously looking.

The Flash-Point is beautiful, and the gravity waves that wash off of it has caused planets to already coalesce out of the matter created by the Flash-Point itself. One of them was a large gas giant that I picked up some fuel from. At least one of these worlds also appears to have life, so you know I am leaving a satellite behind. Going to be doing that a lot.

Well, another satellite is finished printing, and it is time to get it paired up to the ET/EC unit and launched. I'm getting good at that.

19 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page