top of page

Welcome to my little corner of the universe.

I am D.C. Ballard.

Author. Tabletop Game Master.

Husband. Father. Pet Papa.

Certified and Proud Mega-Nerd. 

I write Sci-Fi/Sci-Fan, and Sci-Fi Erotica.

Any NSFW posts will be clearly marked, and any of the NAUGHTY stuff will be after the fold.

 

Here in this blog I will share with you, oh weary wanderer of the Internets, some of my creative endeavors.

There will be at least two ongoing, if not always regularly updated, stories. I will also post the occasional teaser and snippet from my other work, including published, and not yet published work.

>> All Content is © D.C.Ballard 2019 <<

>> All Images are to my knowledge, CC0 and are sourced from Pixabay.com unless otherwise noted. <<

  • Writer's pictureD.C. Ballard

Log Entry 6


The view keeps changing out the windows Beautiful, but strange as well.

I've been in jump for three hours now, and the readings, from those sensors that are supposed to work while in jump, are just getting weirder. The problem is. The tech's told me that they are all experimental. Every one of them is untested, and they didn't know if they would actually work, if the information that they give would be useful, accurate, or render data on what they are supposed to.


Like the speed reading. I thought it was broken at first, but it is in fact pegged. Suggesting that I am moving faster, in relation to real space, than the device can read. However, there is no frame of reference, and I don't know how it works, because the tech's were just guessing when they built it. So I could be literally stationary and come out of jump right were I left.


The view outside has changed. The walls look solid, like I'm traveling through a stone bore hole. Though, I suppose that isn't that far from the truth, assuming things are working as I understand they do. The new drive is supposed to essentially burrow through the extra dimensions of space-time that are not normally accessible to us, not normally visible to us. The current drive systems do that, but they only go one or two dimensions deep. The new drive is supposed to go much deeper. Now that I think about it, the tech's were rather vague on that one.


Damn. There really is no telling. Maybe the drive is still digging and what I am seeing is just deeper levels of space-time than ever before. Though I suppose that would be true regardless.


There are no windows on the current ships because they say that it is a featureless void that will mess with your mind. If you stare at it too long, that void will stare back at you. Just about every early pilot, back when they still had windows that were open while in FTL flight, went completely insane after more than a few trips. All of them going stark raving mad, screaming about all sorts of insanity. Saying they could start to see things out there in the void. That it wasn't empty, but that things lived there. I know. Crazy.


But... As crazy as that is. I am suddenly wondering.... Why does the Viteză Furie have windows? They're real windows. Sure. Protected by shields, and made of optical diamond reinforced by several processes that make the diamond of these windows stronger than a natural diamond by a factor of a thousand. Yet, they are still just windows. I have a lot of windows. They wrap around the control room. There is a very large window, with displays layered on the inner surface, in the rec room. Same for the galley. My quarters has three. None in engineering, or the store rooms. The lab and other functional rooms do.


This is gonna bug me. Then again, what I see out the windows is not the insanity causing void reported by those early pilots. More questions for the tech's once I get back home.

34 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page