top of page

Welcome to my little corner of the universe.

I am D.C. Ballard.

Author. Tabletop Game Master.

Husband. Father. Pet Papa.

Certified and Proud Mega-Nerd. 

I write Sci-Fi/Sci-Fan, and Sci-Fi Erotica.

Any NSFW posts will be clearly marked, and any of the NAUGHTY stuff will be after the fold.

 

Here in this blog I will share with you, oh weary wanderer of the Internets, some of my creative endeavors.

There will be at least two ongoing, if not always regularly updated, stories. I will also post the occasional teaser and snippet from my other work, including published, and not yet published work.

>> All Content is © D.C.Ballard 2019 <<

>> All Images are to my knowledge, CC0 and are sourced from Pixabay.com unless otherwise noted. <<

  • Writer's pictureD.C. Ballard

Log Entry 8


A crystaline tunnel. Like a twisted, warped mirror. Some of the reflections seem to be of the Viteză Furie.

35 Hours in jump. Got some sleep and explored the media stores on board. They are, very extensive. Even has banned stuff. Currently listening through something called Metal. It is loud, hard, and I like it a lot. The current song is called Indestructible by a group called Disturbed. I will tell you this, I feel kinda indestructible listening to it. The music is centuries old, and I am pretty sure it is on the banned list for some reason. The vid-story that goes with it is wild. You don't have to watch the vid-story, but it is interesting.


Checked the sensors again, because they are running. Just as much garbage coming from them as before. I was able to confirm that all the recorders are running and collecting data. I have even reviewed some of it. Wish I understood what I am looking at. I'm sure the tech's will be able to make sense out of it, so I have set up an auto-job to push it into a data-log for immediate upload once we are out of jump. Got it set for a new log every hour, it fills up too quickly for anything longer than that. Damn I hope this data is helpful.


Looking out the windows, it now looks like I am passing through a crystal tube. There even seems to be reflections of the Viteză Furie in the surface. I have tried turning on the running lights, and the light, if that is what I am actually seeing, changed, like some weird, deformed mirror. It is fascinating, and kind of unnerving.


I did complete the audit. I have enough food in the store room to eat like royalty for a year. If I eat like I normally do, I could easily stretch it to two years, and if I were to go on rations, it would cover three years. That is a lot of food. I remember again the reasons they told me when I saw the manifest. I didn't verify it, just noted that it seemed like a lot, and they told me that it was just in case I got stranded. Now I'm wondering if they were not just planning for the worst, but expecting it, even planning for it. Is it the worst?


I have materials printers and the raw materials to make a lot of things. I have the raw materials, and the printer designs to build an electric all-terrain vehicle with, or without, air supply. That wouldn't even make a dent. I also have the printer designs for bladed weapons as well as projectile weapons, both rifles and side-arms, and they are military grade. That I got extensive weapons training is both less curious now, and highly suspicious. Like they expected I might need to know how to use them, and they are the very weapons I was trained on.


The Lab is just as fully stocked. Microscopes, auto-labs, chemicals, chemical printers, and on, and on. Again, all things I was given extensive training on when preparing for this mission. Things I just rolled with because they told me it was necessary. I didn't question any of that training, all the skills they filled me up with. I just took it all in without question, or when I did question, they gave me perfectly reasonable answers.


Well. Still have a few hours in Jump before the auto-sequence should pull me out and back into real-space. So I am going to listen to some more music and take a nap.

26 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page